top of page
Africa Spirit Destinations Zanzibar Sea

Zanzibar

Les célèbres îles de l'archipel de Zanzibar sont situées à environ 25 miles au large de Dar es Salaam sur la côte continentale de la Tanzanie.

Qu'est-ce qui rend Zanzibar spécial ?

What makes Zanzibar different to other tropical island destinations is the eclectic mix of sun, sea, sand and spice. But there is much more - vivid history, culture and a variety of excursions that makes this one of the most popular all-round beach destinations for people of all ages and interests. Apart from this, a whole range of endangered species can be found in the warm tropical waters around the archipelago - from bottlenose dolphins and green turtles to the once assumed extinct coelecanth! Zanzibar also hosts annual festivals and events drawing people from all over East Africa and the world.

Africa Spirit Destinations Zanzibar Resort Sea Blue

Hôtels

Avec des hôtels en propriété sur l'île d'Unguja, plus connue sous le nom de Zanzibar, et des accords avec presque toutes les grandes propriétés de l'île, Africa Spirit est en mesure de fournir des hébergements à tous les niveaux, du 3 * au 5 *, non seulement à Zanzibar mais sur tout l'archipel. et sur la côte de Shwaili.

Africa Spirit Destinations Zanzibar Sansi Hotels Sea Resort Blue

Hôtels Sansi

Africa Spirit Destinations Zanzibar Hotels Collection Resorts Karafuu Red

Collection Africa Spirit Hotels

Africa Spirit Destinations Zanzibar Sunset

Qu'allez-vous trouver ?

Zanzibar est un archipel d'îles - la plus célèbre étant Unguja située à 25 km de la côte continentale à Dar es Salaam. L'île est célèbre pour son mélange de plages exotiques, de célèbres plantations d'épices, d'histoire (Stone Town étant la capitale) et de culture diversifiée. Unguja (l'île principale de Zanzibar) abrite également de nombreuses espèces menacées, notamment le singe colobe rouge et la tortue verte. Les côtes nord et est d'Unguja ont des plages particulièrement attrayantes avec du sable blanc poudreux baignées par les eaux chaudes bleu turquoise de l'océan Indien et encadrées par de nombreux cocotiers et palmiers dattiers sauvages. Cela en fait un endroit idéal pour se détendre, en particulier après un safari ou une randonnée dans le Kilimandjaro. Il y a de nombreuses excursions et sports nautiques à pratiquer et toute une gamme d'hébergements à choisir.

Africa Spirit Destinations Zanzibar Sea Forest Village Resort

Hébergement à Unguja, Pemba et Mafia

Zanzibar et Mafia proposent toute une gamme d'hébergements adaptés à différents intérêts et budgets. En général, les hôtels de Stone Town sont idéaux pour explorer la ville historique, faire des visites de plantations d'épices et visiter de petites îles autour de l'île principale (par exemple, Changuu/Prison island, Bawe island, Chumbe island), divers palais et ruines historiques, ainsi que en prenant beaucoup de culture et d'événements locaux . 

La côte Est est très prisée, avec de superbes plages de sable blanc et des récifs coralliens regorgeant de vie sous-marine. Beaucoup d'hôtels différents, des très petits et intimes aux grands complexes animés. 

La côte nord est généralement considérée comme la meilleure pour ceux qui recherchent des safaris sous-marins plus aventureux - plongée sous-marine et plongée sous-marine, en particulier le long de l'atoll de Mnemba. Les stations balnéaires ici vont du standard à l'exclusif. 

En dehors de ceux-ci, il existe des escapades parfaites sur des îles privées - proposées sous la forme de complexes individuels sur les petites îles autour de l'île principale - l'île de Chumbe, l'île de Chapwani, l'île de Mnemba, l'île de Bawe et l'île de Changuu pour n'en nommer que quelques-unes.

Africa Spirit Destinations Zanzibar Resort Unguja Pemba Mafia Plane View Forest Sea

Îles Pemba et Mafia

Ces îles se trouvent à l'est de la Tanzanie dans l'océan Indien. Pemba est au nord d'Unguja et l'île de Mafia au sud d'Unguja. 

À proprement parler, l'île de Mafia a toujours fait partie du Tanganyika continental. L'île de Pemba, quant à elle, fait partie de l'archipel de Zanzibar, la deuxième plus grande île du groupe, et célèbre pour ses plantations d'épices (principalement de clous de girofle) et de noix de coco. Connue sous le nom de "Al-Khudra" (l'île verte), Pemba se trouve à 40 km au nord d'Unguja (l'île que la plupart des visiteurs appellent Zanzibar). 

Pemba est appréciée des plongeurs et de ceux qui souhaitent s'éloigner de l'agitation d'Unguja.  Bien que généralement calme et rurale, cette île accueille de grandes corridas émanant de l'ère des colonialistes portugais. Les insulaires célèbrent également le Mwaka Kogwa avec des rituels traditionnels et l'incendie d'une vieille "hutte".  

Remarque : Ne confondez pas l'île de Pemba avec Pemba au Mozambique. 

L'île de Mafia est peu connue de nombreux touristes, mais bien connue du monde de la plongée comme l'un des meilleurs spots de plongée sous-marine. Les récifs coralliens autour de cette île regorgent de créatures sous-marines de toutes sortes, y compris des espèces menacées et rares comme les requins-baleines, les dugongs et les grands dauphins.

Africa Spirit Destinations Zanzibar Pemba Mafia Island

Climat et météo (quand y aller)

Les températures à Zanzibar sont élevées tout au long de l'année. Le climat est tropical, chaud toute l'année, avec deux saisons des pluies : l'une plus intense, dite "grande saison des pluies", de mars à mai, avec un pic en avril, et l'autre moins intense, dite "courte pluie". saison des pluies », entre mi-octobre et décembre. Les meilleurs mois pour profiter du soleil et de la mer de Zanzibar sont juillet, août et septembre. De nombreux voyageurs combineront le temps passé sur les plages de Zanzibar avec une visite dans le nord de la Tanzanie, pour la migration des gnous du Serengeti.

Quoi emballer

En hiver (juin à août) : emportez des vêtements légers, un sweat-shirt pour le soir, une écharpe légère contre la brise et de la crème solaire. Lorsque vous vous rendez au récif, vous pouvez apporter du matériel de plongée en apnée, notamment des chaussures aquatiques ou des chaussures à semelles en caoutchouc. En été (décembre à février) : emportez des vêtements tropiques et amples, un sweat léger pour le soir, un imperméable léger ou un parapluie en décembre et de la crème solaire. Lorsque vous vous rendez au récif, vous pouvez apporter du matériel de plongée en apnée, notamment des chaussures aquatiques ou des chaussures à semelles en caoutchouc.

Exigences médicales

Ces informations ne sont pas destinées à remplacer les conseils d'un professionnel de la médecine des voyages. Tous les vaccins énumérés ici ne seront pas nécessaires pour chaque individu.

Vaccins recommandés pour les voyageurs : Hepatite A,Paludisme(sous forme de pilule),Méningite,Rage*,Typhoïde,Fièvre jaune(*La vaccination contre la rage n'est généralement recommandée que pour les voyageurs à très haut risque étant donné qu'elle est totalement évitable si des soins médicaux sont reçus dans les 7 à 10 jours suivant une morsure d'animal). Il peut également être conseillé aux voyageurs de s'assurer qu'ils ont reçu les vaccins de routine énumérés ci-dessous. Certains adultes peuvent avoir besoin de recevoir un rappel pour certaines de ces maladies : rougeole, oreillons et rubéole (ROR), dcaT (tétanos, diphtérie et coqueluche), varicelle, poliomyélite, grippe. Les personnes âgées ou celles qui ont certaines conditions médicales peuvent également vouloir demander à être vaccinées contre le zona et/ou la pneumonie.

 

La vaccination COVID-19 est recommandée pour les voyages dans toutes les régions, tant étrangères que nationales.

Africa Spirit Services Excursions Spices

Excursions

Découvrez les fantastiques excursions que nous proposons pour cette destination.

Africa Spirit Services Transfers Plane

Transferts et service à la clientèle

Découvrez les services que nous proposons en tant que DMC pour cette destination.

Apprendre a nous connaitre

Si vous êtes intéressé, vous pouvez nous contacter dans notre rubrique dédiée.

bottom of page

top of page
Africa Spirit Destinations Zanzibar Sea

Zanzibar

The famous islands of the Zanzibar archipelago are located about 25 miles off Dar es Salaam on the mainland coast of Tanzania.

What makes Zanzibar special?

What makes Zanzibar different to other tropical island destinations is the eclectic mix of sun, sea, sand and spice. But there is much more - vivid history, culture and a variety of excursions that makes this one of the most popular all-round beach destinations for people of all ages and interests. Apart from this, a whole range of endangered species can be found in the warm tropical waters around the archipelago - from bottlenose dolphins and green turtles to the once assumed extinct coelecanth! Zanzibar also hosts annual festivals and events drawing people from all over East Africa and the world.

Africa Spirit Destinations Zanzibar Resort Sea Blue

Hotels

With owned hotels on Unguja Island, better known as Zanzibar, and agreements with almost all the major properties on the island, Africa Spirit is able to provide accommodation at all levels, from 3 * to 5 *, not only Zanzibar but on the whole archipelago and on the Shwaili Coast.

Africa Spirit Destinations Zanzibar Sansi Hotels Sea Resort Blue

Sansi Hotels

Africa Spirit Destinations Zanzibar Hotels Collection Resorts Karafuu Red

Africa Spirit Hotels Collection

Africa Spirit Destinations Zanzibar Sunset

What will you find?

Zanzibar is an archipelago of islands - the most famous being Unguja located 25 kms from the mainland coast at Dar es Salaam. The island is famous for its mix of exotic beaches, famous spice plantations, history (Stone Town being the capital) and diverse culture. Unguja (the main island in Zanzibar) is also home to many endangered species including the red colobus monkey and green turtle. The North and East Coast of Unguja have particularly inviting beaches with powder white sand lapped by turquoise blue warm waters of the Indian Ocean and framed by many coconut and wild date palms. This makes for an ideal location to relax particularly after a safari or trek up Kilimanjaro. There are many excursions and water sports for people to indulge in and a whole range of accommodations to choose from.

Africa Spirit Destinations Zanzibar Sea Forest Village Resort

Accommodations in Unguja, Pemba and Mafia

Zanzibar and Mafia have a whole range of accommodations to suit different interests and budgets. Generally, the hotels in Stone Town are ideal for exploring the historic city, taking Spice plantation tours and visiting little isles around the main island (eg Changuu/Prison island, Bawe island, Chumbe island), various historic palaces and ruins, as well as taking in a lot of local culture and events . 

The East Coast is very popular, with superb white sandy beaches and coral reefs teeming with underwater life. Lots of different hotels from the very small and intimate to the large, bustling resorts. 

The North Coast is generally considered to be the best for those seeking more adventurous underwater safaris -scuba diving and deep sea diving particularly along the Mnemba Atoll. The beach resorts here range from standard to exclusive. 

Aside from these, there are perfect private island get-aways - offered in the form of individual resorts on the little islands around the main island - Chumbe Island, Chapwani island, Mnemba Island, Bawe island and Changuu island to name a few.

Africa Spirit Destinations Zanzibar Resort Unguja Pemba Mafia Plane View Forest Sea

Pemba and Mafia Islands

These islands are found east of Tanzania on the Indian Ocean. Pemba is north of Unguja and Mafia island south of Unguja. 

Strictly speaking, Mafia island has always been part of mainland Tanganyika. Pemba island on the other hand, is part of the Zanzibar archipelago, the second largest island in the group, and famous for its spice (predominantly clove) and coconut plantations. Known as "Al-Khudra" (the Green isle), Pemba lies 40 km north of Unguja (the island most visitors refer to as Zanzibar). 

Pemba is favored by divers and those wanting to get away from the hustle and bustle of Unguja.  Although generally quiet and rural, this island hosts some great bull-fights emanating from the era of Portuguese colonialists. The islanders also celebrate Mwaka Kogwa with traditional rituals and the burning of an old "hut".  

Note: Do not confuse Pemba island with Pemba in Mozambique. 

Mafia island is little known to many tourists, yet well known amongst those in the diving world as one of the premier spots for deep sea diving. The coral reefs around this island teem with undersea creatures of all kinds including endangered and rare species like whale sharks, dugong and bottlenose dolphins.  Big game fishing is also done around Mafia island.

Africa Spirit Destinations Zanzibar Pemba Mafia Island

Climate and weather (when to go)

Temperatures in Zanzibar are high throughout the year. The climate is tropical, hot all year round, with two rainy seasons: one more intense, known as the "long rains" season, from March to May, with the peak in April, and the other less intense, known as the "short rains" season, between mid-October and December. The best months to enjoy the sun and the sea of Zanzibar are July, August and September. Many travelers will combine time on Zanzibar's beaches with a visit to northern Tanzania, for the Serengeti Wildebeest migration.

What to pack

In winter (June to August): pack light clothes, a sweatshirt for the evening, a light scarf for the breeze, and sunscreen. When going to the reef, you can bring snorkeling equipment, including water shoes or rubber-soled shoes. In summer (December to February): pack tropics-friendly, loose-fitting clothing, a light sweatshirt for the evening, a light raincoat or umbrella in December, and sunscreen. When going to the reef, you can bring snorkeling equipment, including water shoes or rubber-soled shoes.

Medical requirements

This information is not intended to replace the advice of a travel medicine professional. Not all of the vaccines listed here will be necessary for every individual.

Recommended vaccinations for travelers: Hepatitis A, Malaria (pill form), Meningitis, Rabies*, Typhoid, Yellow Fever (*Rabies vaccination is typically only recommended for very high risk travelers given that it is completely preventable if medical attention is received within 7 – 10 days of an animal bite). Travelers may also be advised to ensure they have received the routine vaccinations listed below. Some adults may need to receive a booster for some of these diseases: Measles, mumps and rubella (MMR), Tdap (tetanus, diphtheria and pertussis), Chickenpox, Polio, Influenza. Older adults or those with certain medical conditions may also want to ask about being vaccinated for shingles and/or pneumonia.

COVID-19 vaccination is recommended for travel to all regions, both foreign and domestic.

Africa Spirit Services Excursions Spices

Excursions

Discover the fantastic excursions we offer for this destination.

Africa Spirit Services Transfers Plane

Transfers and Customer Care

Discover the services we offer as DMC for this destination.

Get to Know Us

If you're interested, you can contact us in our dedicated section.

bottom of page